I got a new car! LOL jk - I don't even have a damn job yet. However, I do have an upcoming telephone interview with Target so that should be exciting. I know retail sucks generally (via my own past experiences with it), however I am also applying for positions that don't involve much interaction with customers so that's a plus. Dealing with customers in retail is one of the worst things - I'm not a fan of getting paid to be treated like shit like I was at the dollar store waaaayyyyyy back in the day so I like not having that responsibility at this point in time. If I am hired, they intend to cross-train me though so I could interact with those damn people who are the worst. I remember Sundays being the most excruciating days in retail because, oddly, the people coming in after church were ritually the most abrasive, demanding and entitled people that came in. And thinking about this leads me into Black Friday shoppers. Does anyone remember the hype surrounding this movie?
I'm pretty sure Black Friday is essentially the equivalent of a real life Purge. Just take some time and think about it. People getting literally trampled and stampeded (word?) to death; not a single fuck is given as people continue shopping for those deals. Fights break out over Elmo dolls; the verbal and physical abuse runs rampant and nobody gives a damn; theft of some sort is expected even with vamped up security. It's complete chaos ... And for some reason it's completely anticipated and basically acceptable. We have to publish lists of ways that people can stay safe on Black Friday - that's a little intense. I've gone Black Friday shopping with people twice. Mind you, it wasn't for myself and I wasn't buying gifts for anyone, I was helping out my aunt and mother. It's like a human zoo where all of the people have just busted out of their cages. Some of my favorite Black Friday related memes:

I think we have our shit a little backwards, but I guess that's just the way of things for the moment.
The longer I'm away from the psych field, the more I'm realizing that I don't exactly miss all the responsibility associated with the field. One concept that has always been a bit elusive and (I feel) arbitrary is the professional identity. Basically, you're expected to change your life to reflect the aspects of the field. To me, this is extremely interesting because two things that psychology and counseling fields strive for (typically) are congruence and genuineness. However, this genuineness has to fall within the confines of what is acceptable to the field (aka, whatever richer white people determine is acceptable). White people are the worst.
We went to a Halloween party last night. It was pretty awkward at first because we literally did not know a single person when we first arrived. Apparently, my friend who invited us had left as we were arriving. I actually remember seeing him leave, but didn't realize it was him. So Jared and I basically looked like two dudes that just wandered in to this party and chilled out on the couch for a bit before going outside to introduce ourselves to a few people. My friend eventually arrived (he was Satan), and then we took 3 shots back to back and the fun began. It was a pretty good time; however, most everyone ended up leaving and going to the bars not too far from the party, but far enough that you couldn't walk to get there. It was a little bizarre because why the hell would you leave a party with free booze to go to a crowded downtown event? Didn't make sense to me, and apparently not a lot to them either because they all came back like an hour and a half later. It was cool getting to see a friend I hadn't seen in years and also returning some things of his I had from about 6 years ago haha.
We were bro'ed out though - it was pretty classy. It was also crazy awesome outside (shout out to global warming). Fun times. Also last night was the first time ever Jared has had Dominoes pizza! I was truly dumbfounded and amazed. So yeah ...
Does anyone ever leave comments on these Internets? I'm a little sad that nobody is even trying to troll me :-( haters are my motivators.

















