Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Insanity updates

So I haven't posted for a few days and thought I should first of all make people aware that I'm still alive (I'm certain you were concerned ... Right?) and, secondly, to update you on the status of my Insanity workout. 
So I ended up failing a bit this past weekend. I spent the weekend in Columbus with Jared and did a good job Thursday night before I left working out. I did a good job Friday afternoon while I was in Columbus. Then Saturday came along and fucked my shit up. I actually did NOT do my Saturday workout as scheduled :-( 
So what I decided to do instead was take the Saturday off and since Sunday was technically scheduled as an off day, I decided to do the Saturday workout Sunday night. I actually followed through with this plan and Sunday night after getting into town, I got to my workout. I was tired as all hell afterward and climbed into the shower. It was pretty late (around 1am) when all was said and done and I had to get to work early. The one thing that I had considered was that the workout won't help me get to sleep, but then again I never fall asleep by 2am anyway so I figured what the hell. Turns out I didn't get to sleep until around 3am which kinda sucked but oh well - I made it work. 
Monday morning rolls around and my left quadricep is being quite the pain throughout the day. It wasn't anything major and didn't spoil my day or anything but it was noticeable. So I make it through work and had a very important meeting afterward that was originally supposed to take half an hour. Turns out the meeting was stretched to 1.5 hours and by the end of it I was feeling exhausted. There's this one woman in the office that always gets on my case about my blood sugar levels. Whenever she sees me pass by, she calls me in the office to discuss my eating habits. What the shit is that all about?! I mean, I get that she's concerned I suppose and a mother figure but lady, don't try and pass off your bag of dry, crunchy ass pretzels on me! I don't even like crunchy pretzels! If you were gonna bake some nice warm pretzels then that's a different story, but that's not the case and STOP TELLING ME HOW TO LIVE MY LIFE! My own parents don't even do that! Granted, I think they kinda have up after a few years and eventually noticed that I mostly have my shit together anyways. But I digress. 
Monday night after the meeting I was exhausted. The roomie and I went to get some food and here's what happened there: I almost annihilated an entire large pizza! I am not even kidding at all - I'm pretty sure that long-term, this is not good for my overall workout and progress. What's more, after inhaling this pizza, I basically fell asleep. Soooo, I missed my Monday workout :-( 
It definitely sucked to miss the workout but I think I've made a compromise. I plan to continue to workout out through the weekend and substitute my Sunday for an active day to stay on schedule. 
Which means today I did cardio power and resistance. I blogged about it before but the one thing that I had forgotten the first time I'd blogged about it was this one lady, Adriana (spelling?). I'm not sure why I didn't blog about it the first time because it had such a profound effect on me even this time. It was beautiful though. So we're just into the workout and I think it was during some triceps dips. Shaun T is doing his thing (tangent about this later) and checking in with people about how they're doing. He comes to the lovely Adriana and asks her how she's feeling. Her response: "I feel like shit"  ... BAHAHAHAHAHA 
Just like I did the first time I heard this, I literally had to stop working out so I could laugh and breathe and laugh some more. And Shaun T kinda gives the camera a little smile and just goes with it and moves on. It was fantastic! This woman ... 
Which then brings me to my little tangent about Shaun T. So this dude is bad ass and all that jazz - creates this workout and several other series of workouts and then narrates, motivates, contemplates, generates (I dig the rhymes even though the last two don't fit) and all that's cool. THEN the dude starts the workouts and blah blah blah. One thing I've noticed is that his dude - this damn guy - only does like 70% of the workout!! The rest of his time is spent talking into the camera a bit and walking around checking in with the other people. Well dammit dude-guy, if you're gonna make the rest of us do the workout, you better damn well join in 100%. I sure didn't borrow these DVD's for free so I could have some built dictator (and potential member of a gay mafia is the new rumor I'm just now starting) tell me that I have to keep working my ass off when he's not even giving his all! But I sure did it anyway :-/ 
Two awesome things I've noticed as signs of progress: 
1. I can actually stand up in the shower after the workouts now. It's nice not suffering in the fetal position as the water beats down on me from high. 
2. I'm really starting to feel the soreness in my core which means I'm actually doing the heavy core workouts correctly! It's been a more recent improvement that I noticed this, but it's definitely reassuring that I seem to be on the right track. I there's one thing I learned from working with a physical therapist last year it's that one good way to monitor your progress with your core is through noticing your posture. As much as we like to think posture is some magical balancing act done with our backs, it's actually all from the core. So whenever you find yourself slouching, tighten up the core and use it like it was meant to be used. 

I think discovered recently that blogging just about insanity is a little boring at this point, mostly because I'm just going to be doing the same workouts for the new 3 weeks. So with that in mind, I'll try to mix things up a bit since it's my blog and I can do what I damn well please on these interwebs. I'm just now thinking though that hindsight, I probably should have taken measurements of my hips and stuff to help track progress ... Potentially add that to the "to-do" list when I wake up. Who knows when that will be though :-/ 
As Porky would say (with his little stutter of course), "That's all folks." 
 

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Insanity day 4

So I'm writing this from my phone because I'm in Columbus and too lazy to unpack my computer. My overall feeling about today's workout: thank you, Shaun T :'-) 
I was extremely excited to see that it was a recovery day once I grabbed the DVD - it was phenomenal. I feel like I want to give Shaun T a hug and thank him and give him a gift card to Ruby Tuesday or Friday's ... Or some other place with a day of the week in the world because this was such a memorable day in my insanity history. So it was a fantastic and less intense workout today than any other day to help promote recovery. I was a big fan of today's workout because there was a lot of yoga action which I was happy to see. 
So now I'm in Columbus and I'm pretty sure I've earned a massage from the boy so I'm gonna cash in on that before falling asleep tonight. I'm also excited about work stuff and think my coworkers are awesome and can't wait to get to meet with them more, just the three of us and all learn from each other. Also excited to have the opportunity to teach them some ACT stuff which I absolutely love. But now I'm hungry and I'm being rude on my phone with this update so I will return tomorrow with an update unless Insanity kills me which I'm feeling pretty confident that since it hasn't taken me out at this point, I should be in the clear. 

Adios 

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Insanity Day 3

INSANITY - DAY 3 
 
So I guess I should make a quick update on Insanity day 3. Long and short of it - still a shit ton of squats and lunges and I may have pulled a muscle in my thigh. Not completely sure, but I decided to get some Icy-Hot just in case. Now I'm spending the rest of my night relaxing a bit, going through an assessment report and trying to distract myself from all the pain in my muscles.
As I'm typing this, it's showing up as some really weird formatting on this end - hope it doesn't post like this.

So it basically went like this today. I prepared mentally for the workout. Made sure NOT to peak ahead and de-motivate myself before getting started. I made room in the living room, got myself some water (soooooo much water today, btw), and got into the DVD. I began with some simple stretches before getting into it and then started up with some jogging and whatever else may have followed. It followed the same kind of format as the previous DVD - 3 rotations of several exercises which you're expected to increase in speed and power each time. I would say that I generally did "OK" at doing this. I also noticed this habit of taking a break whenever Shaun T reminded me "Take a break if you need it." Looking back, I probably didn't need as many breaks as I took. On the same note, I'm also sitting here applying icy-hot to my thigh, so maybe I didn't do as well with pacing it as I should have ... 
 
Stretching leads into jogging leads into exercises leads into 30 second water breaks and more working out. I actually wore shorts today because I remembered that I had another pair which would be pretty suitable for exercising in. Trouble was, they had been in the dirty laundry for a while but I finally found them and was excited to see that they even matched my shoes! I also sent Jared a picture, but decided against it. Anyways, I'm working out and looking fabulous with my matching shoes and shorts and we get to some new exercises I've never seen. One of the cool things about the exercises is that there are some things that I'm a bit familiar with as there are basically some more intense and active yoga moves that he throws in. I'm also a fan of learning some new things and I actually found myself enjoying today's workout for the most part. Of course there were some hang ups, like when I found myself almost completely unwilling to do the moving push-ups. But Shaun T and I were able to work past that and continue the workout as suggested. 
 
I was admittedly a bit upset after starting the DVD and looking through the crowd of people and noticing that Crybaby was nowhere to be found :-( . Then I started to have an existential moment where things started to get deep. What if I'M Chris Crybaby Cortez? What if that's what Shaun T and that damned Tanya were planning all along? Ahhhh snap ... 
 
Continued the workout and finished it up pretty strong. I ended the day with no vomits and no nausea whatsoever! I did have to stop in the middle of it for a pee break, but I feel like that's progress since I upped my total water intake for the day. All in all, I'm sore as hell and nursing my wounds a bit, but I survived yet another day of Insanity. I look forward to whatever tomorrow has in store for me. Also, I'm just generally hoping that tomorrow is a quick day for me as I have some exciting plans for the weekend. I suppose that's all. I should get back to work on this assessment report and eventually get some sleep before work tomorrow. I'm loving my Thursday 10-7 schedule though - definitely more conducive to my wants/needs than my Monday 7:45-5 schedule was.  
 
I find myself having less and less energy for intense posts as I continue the workout.  However, I definitely made sure to look at some videos and pics of funny animals throughout the day so that was a plus. Self-care is essential ya know! Also, there was less fetal-positioned showering happening today too, so that's also a plus. Hoping we can continue that trend. Still reframing the sore muscles as progress. Also, amazed at how much my body can sweat! It's some intense shit really. The only time I can remember putting up this much of a sweat was waaayyyy back in the day, during the summers when I would play tennis for about 4-7 hours a day - those were definitely some good times. I miss tennis and would like to get back into it again at some point. I also miss junk food right now. One thing I've found that I don't miss though - soda. I've been soda free for a few months now (with an occasional soda as a mixer or at a restaurant once with Jared) and it's been a pretty simple transition. It doesn't always work when ordering food to be delivered though because apparently some places (Cousin Vinny's for instance) don't have non-soda options when you order. The closest they have is Sierra Mist, which isn't terrible, but I'd still rather not. 

Ummmm... I guess that's it really. Not very exciting but that's my life some days. Looking forward to some more excitement this weekend in Columbus. 

See ya later, bye!

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Insanity - Day 2

INSANITY - DAY 2 
Oh my shit - it hurts. It all just hurts. So much soreness. I'm reframing it as progress though. No pulled muscles or anything like that. So far I've survived. Mind you though, I didn't wake up this sore. Oh no, friends. This is the aftermath of Day 2 of Insanity. 
Blah blah blah, woke up and went on with my day until time for the workout came. So I pop in the DVD and one thing I decided I would do was take a brief glimpse at what was in store for me. I start up the DVD and then it freezes on me! I'm borrowing my copy from a coworker so it was a short period of panic mode. "What if she thinks I broke it? What if she tries to make me pay for a new one!?" Then I laugh to myself - "LOL! There's no way I'll be paying $150 to replace this for her!" Brief panic comes and goes and I go to clean off the DVD. Clean it off and pop it back in and Voila! It begins working. So I go ahead and peak through a bit at what to expect. I ended up finding out that this was a HUGE MISTAKE! I can't think of any better way to have de-motivated me other than cutting off one of my limbs. I was just mentally not about this workout. But again, I'd made a dedication that I had to follow-through with and so I got to it. I got my cold bottle of water from the fridge and I also decided that I was gonna bring my fan downstairs too because I wasn't looking forward to being hot as balls like the last time I'd done this. I get myself prepared with my necessities and then I start to get myself a bit psyched up and mentally prepared for what I knew was ahead. Move the table out of the way, change into some shorts and push "Play" on the DVD.
Before we get too in depth about what's going on in the DVD, let's start with the name of the DVD. "Plyometric Cardio Circuit." Now I'm no scientist, but I start to use some of my deductive reasoning skills. Cardio = heart. Circuit = Mario Kart = this is gonna take some time. Plyometric ... hmmmmmmm. Metric --> Metric system ---> equals. Plyo must mean "Pain" - I'm going to hurt just as much as I did yesterday once I'm done with this workout (deductive reasoning folks!). *Sigh* ... Let's do it. 
We dive right into some stretching. I take a look around the gym (as if I'm actually there) and there are at least 12 more people than last time! Screw this, I don't have time to start learning the names of 12 more people. Luckily we see the return of Crybaby Chris and - oh ... Joker Face is still here with her abs and making so much progress >:-| - good for her. We get to the workout. We stretch and stretch - "no big deal." - That's what I would say if I were a lot more fit and wasn't able to feel all the soreness in my muscles (especially my thighs) during the stretching. However, I could certainly feel the soreness in my muscles throughout the stretching though and damn were they feeling rough. But again, gotta do this and we just push on through the stretches. 

Then we get into the actual exercises. We start to jog and jog some more - high knees - more running activities - some mummy kicks (which I like mostly because of the name) and lots and lots more things. Cool - I make it through one rotation of all of them. Well, halfway into the first set of mummy kicks, my shorts decide they want to start sliding off of me. To hell with it - I'm in my own house, so I just throw them off and away. The cat gives me a judgy look, so I glare back at him and get back into my mummy kicks. "30 second break - get some water" - absolutely will! Then we get back into the exercises - same rotation of exercises, but faster! Not that they went by quicker - I was just expected to go faster. So that's exactly what I (attempt to) do! We push through this rotation and get another "30 second break" - HA! No - we're gonna need more than that. I pause the DVD, get some water, keep moving around of course and check my heart rate. Turns out my heart rate is waaayyyyy up there by the end of it. I need to chill out just a bit before getting into it again, because, like they show in the beginning, my heart might seriously explode if I don't keep track of it - seriously. I decide not to take my chances. I keep moving, drinking some water and then find myself getting back into the workout at least mentally. My body is hating me, but again, "progress." Hit the "play" button again and continue where we left off. Turns out, we're doing ONE LAST rotation of these exercises and FASTER! Ugghhhh - we start into it and I find myself having to take it all more at my own pace (which they recommend anyway), so I do. Make it through MOST of the last rotation of things and then get a nice little break. Take my break and jump into the next rotation of exercise. 

I'll be honest - I don't at all remember what the next rotation of exercises included. What I do remember is monitoring my heart rate, needing to slow it down a bit and having to stretch the next rotation longer than Shaun T originally intended. I somehow survive this next large rotation of exercises and transition into the final set of exercises. Again, I can't remember a damn thing that we actually did on the last rotations - my mind was more focused on just trying to accomplish a majority of the exercises with more than just 3 reps and I mostly did that. Finally, we come to the end of the workout where we're doing our stretches. My sweat drenched, half-naked, worn out ass is just standing in the middle of my living room sore as hell and stretching as best I can. I start to reflect on the workout a little bit and came to one conclusion - this dude makes me do waaaayyy too many squats and lunges. It literally kills me a little inside whenever I see that one of the workouts involves squats. I attempt to throw another reframe in there - "I'm gonna be soooo bootylicious when I'm done with these workouts." 

I turn off TV and literally pull myself up the stairs by my railing - I'm convinced I wouldn't have made it upstairs if I didn't have the railing. I make it to the bathroom and jump in the shower. Now you know how able-bodied people typically stand in the shower and clean themselves off. Well, that was the idea I had in my mind, but all my body had left in it was to crawl into the tub, turn on some water and just lay there in the fetal position. After laying there for a bit, I realized I hadn't even put in the plug to fill the tub so I somehow pull myself up from the side-fetal position I'm in and try to do that. Then I think to myself about how pathetic I look at that moment - I basically look like I should be in one of those sad movies where I'm just laying there in the tub while the shower runs on me and crying about my lost boyfriend. I briefly think about what my boyfriend would do if he saw me like that and came to the conclusion that he would probably make fun of me. So I muster the energy to stand up and turn on the shower. I won't go into shower details because this isn't that kind of blog (yet ...), but it was painful and bending to clean all of my body was the worst. I once again reflect on the workout and ask myself - "was it a successful and good workout?" 

If you read my last entry, you'll remember that I decided to track my progress based on the number of times I vomit during the exercises and LOW AND BEHOLD! - I didn't vomit this time! Didn't even have the urge to do so, as far as I can remember. SUCCESS! I look forward to tomorrow's "Cardio Power and Resistance" which I'll have to do earlier in the day to increase the amount of recovery time I have. Gotta make sure I can get to work on Thursday morning and then to Columbus later that night after my Thursday workout. It's gonna be a hell of a week, but we shall see how it goes. 

Not the most exciting post, but that's just my life sometimes. OH! ALSO! I received some exciting news yesterday and I'm waiting to hear if the news becomes anymore exciting come Friday. Fingers are crossed! I also just realized that I forgot to put on deodorant after my shower so I should do that. I'm attempting to increase my overall water intake this month also. So far, I'm definitely doing better than in the past, but still have room for improvement. My forehead isn't covered in dry skin like it has been in the past so I'm hoping that continues. Also excited that my cat is actually using his water fountain thing that I bought him. It's the small things in life I guess. Can't wait for the weekend! I'm sure some of my clients will have some interesting things for me come Thursday though which should make the day go by quickly. 

Peace out boy and girl scouts! 

Monday, September 9, 2013

My Insanity - Day 1 experience



INSANITY - DAY 1

So this is my first attempt at blogging and I figured what better way to start things off than to do the same thing most other people do on social networking sites … complain about how terrible my life is at the moment (fishing, perhaps? Seriously people. And if you're one of those people that says "I know right?!" when you read this, just take about 10 minutes to look through your own posting history and reflect on whether or not you're proud of yourself now).

Before it all begins, I equip myself with my handy Pokewalker with Murkrow at my side (yup, nerdy but this is my blog, so suck it). In retrospect, not the most suitable Pokemon companion during an Insanity workout. I'm thinking that for the future, I'll bring along a Magikarp as I see my ideal transition going from Magikarp to Gyarados. I may reconsider this more in the future, as various other Pokemon seem suitable as well. So, I take some "Before" pics to attempt to get a visual display of my progress later at some point. After some brief disappointment, we transition into the video. 

Insanity begins with a disclaimer (essentially, "Your heart may seriously explode - seriously."). Then we are introduced to the guy I refer to as the narrator - Shaun T. From the minute he opened his mouth, I thought “Wow - what a sensitive, soft, caring individual." A very quick episode of google-stalking confirmed that he is indeed gay and married at that. Congratulations to those two - cool stuff there (REPRESENT!!). Apparently there was some skepticism regarding his sexuality in the beginning. I LOL'ed when I read that. The only thing I have to say is that if the people who weren’t 100% sure had just watched a little past the Fit Test, the DVD transitions right into Shaun T’s choreography background. We get a brief glimpse into his life as a world-renowned choreographer where he displays his “attitude hips” and “whateva IDGAF guuurrllll” head bobs from his “Hip Hop Abs” video. Side note – why is he always referred to as Shaun T?! I don't (often) refer to myself as Tyler V - or better yet, Tyler, son of Tommy. 

Anyway, back to the actual workout. So he begins with a few words of wisdom and the whole “dig deeper” thing. Blah blah blah - you'll get great results. He describes the importance of the Fit Test every two weeks. He also introduces the main antagonist, Tanya “The Machine.” Now, there’s something about this Tanya that was a bit off-putting for me (which makes sense as she's obviously an antagonist). I think the thing that annoyed me about her was her non-stop “look at me kicking your ass” smile that she had going on THE ENTIRE TIME (and she totally kicked my ass >:-\). It reminded me a bit of someone who’s been affected by Joker gas (Batman reference) where it contorts the face into a constant smile. So for the purposes of the rest of the Insanity workout, Tanya (the main antagonist) will be referred to as “Joker Face.” Furthermore, I think that Joker Face has officially become my rival. Apparently, I'm not the only one who isn't the biggest Tanya fan either - I'm gonna pull a Slowpoke meme on this one (look it up) and refer you all to the internet (search "tanya insanity annoying" - it's a whole thing!). We are also introduced to the "Underdog" and main protagonist, Chris “the Crybaby” Cortez. While I made up the last name because alliteration is cool, the nickname still sticks. I can’t actually take credit for this nickname though – credit for this goes to Shaun T because he basically calls Chris a crybaby at the end of the Fit Test.

Blah blah blah, now we transition into the part where they all start to kick my ass. We begin with “Switch Kicks.” First impression: “These look kinda like super flamboyant, overdone goose steps” I get in the ready stance and look over at Joker Face; turns out she already knows what's in store ... And so we begin the "Switch Kicks." During the exercise, I was getting more and more familiar with what it feels like to have a heart that gets little to no cardio throughout the week. End result with these - I actually did OK and my heart didn't explode like I'd anticipated. I was pretty proud of myself for my very first attempt.  *I will attempt to post a little table with results toward the end instead of going into details here.* Anyway, "Switch Kicks" are done and now it's time to take a brief rest, talk to Joker Face and Crybaby Cortez and transition into the next workout: Power Jacks.

When I hear the name, my mind says to me "Oh shit - that doesn't sound good." "Slow it down mind! I'll be the judge of this." Shaun T uses Joker Face to show us an example of how the Power Jacks go - basically squats into jumping jacks. I know I saw her smirk at me while he was using her as an example. So the thought "this is doable" pops into my mind - and it was doable. Definitely felt that one though. Shaun T reminds us to get some water. LOL! That dummy - I had water in hand long before he even mentioned it. You know, tryin not to dehydrate an shit. Also, it was my attempt to try to keep my mind away from the fact that I had only eaten once today and would seriously consider killing someone for ice cream at the moment. So I'm just standing with my water, kicking my legs a little as we wait to transition into the next workout.

As Shaun T demonstrates the "Power Knees," Joker Face nods her head, already aware of what's expected with these. Just like the know-it-all kid in the classroom, my glare just goes straight to her. I know on a literal level she isn't aware of me glaring at her, but I like to think that in some metaphysical way, SHE KNOWS. So the "Power Knees" - basically the same motion you would use to pull a person's head into your knee during a fight. Seems simple enough, but my abs and heart were just not having it. Throughout the exercise, I could feel my heart trying to literally jump out of my throat during the exercise. Toward the end of "Power Knees," Crybaby makes his presence know ("AHHH") and Shaun T basically says "GET THE HELL OVER IT - WE ONLY HAVE 5 SECONDS LEFT!!!" We read Chris' numbers and Shaun T does some simple subtraction to show his improvement. We transition to Joker Face who has obliterated Chris' results. Not at all implying this based on her sex - she just kicks so much ass and I'm such a hater of her progress! Shaun T also reminds us that "Insanity is not sexist." Good to know ...  It was also at the end of this exercise that my body decided that the lunch I had earlier wanted to pay me a visit. That's right - at the end of my third workout, I vomited for the first time. For those who know how English things work, that implies that I vomited at least one more time. Fantastic. Let me first say that I'm so glad I washed my dishes the other night. I won't go into great details about the vomit except to say that I was briefly concerned that there was blood. Then I remembered that I drank some fruit punch earlier and could relax a little while apologizing to my body.

Next exercise - "Power Jumps." Essentially, we're told to start from a squat, jump straight up and land as daintily as we possibly can. This was an important part of this exercise for me because I didn't want to disturb my neighbors. Once that thought crossed my mind, another thought followed: "I should unlock my door in case my body just gives up, that way my neighbors can hear me slam into the floor and investigate whether or not I've been murdered." With my body feeling slightly refreshed from my first vomiting session of my workout, I get right into it. Damn - this is rough. By the end, I found that I did indeed survive and was ready to transition into the next exercise: "Globe Jump."

So here it comes - "Pay attention." I'm glad Shaun T reminded me to pay attention - who knows what could have happened. Anyway, the "Globe Jump" - from a squat, jump left, front ... damn ... I should have listened better. Rewind - OK; squat, jump right, extend up, jump back into a squat, jump left and extend, jump forward to squat and extend. Probably my favorite part of this exercise was when Shaun T criticizes Tanya for messing up on her "Globe Jumps" - hahahaha, gooooood (>:-D). So I survived the "Globe Jumps" and sadly still found myself stuck in Dayton, Ohio. Back to the sad reality and - oh wait - what's this? Fucking SUICIDE JUMPS!? 

It was at this point that I knew that if Natural Selection had a physical embodiment, it would be Shaun T as this moment. Also, my mind interpreted the "Suicide Jumps" as "if you can't these, you may as well kill yourself (or else you will probably be killed by someone like Joker Face). While the name was intimidating, the actual exercise itself is actually a more intense variation of a yoga move that I've practiced along with an additional jump. I found myself able to survive the Suicide Jumps which was made easier with Shaun T telling me that he would cut my throat if I didn't get a few more in. Perhaps that's not what he actually said, but that's what I heard. While my body's hatred for me continued to grow, I knew I had to transition into the next exercise to help distract myself from the nausea that seemed to be taking hold of me. 

Which brings us to "Push-up Jacks." Push-ups with a jumping jack twist of splaying out your legs when you go down and bringing them back together on the way up. Not the most creative names, but another doable exercise. I have no idea what was actually happening on the screen during this exercise as I had my head down the whole time. Not sure if it was because of the workout itself being a push-up or if there was some shame and guilt involved in what I was doing to my poor body. I finish up the push-up jacks and my body chimes in: "Oh hey we're done with those?! Awesome! Time to go vomit again." Unfortunately, it felt like at least an eight minute vomit session for me. Thankfully, I had some Draino handy under the sink afterward, but I wasn't going to use that just yet as I had another intense workout to get through. Just like I'm in an intense boxing match, I wash my mouth out with some water, spit and get right back into the action. I come back to the DVD and have to rewind since I spent so much time vomiting and didn't even have the time to pause. We rewind and by this time I've got this huge curiosity boiling in me and it always come down to "Did Crybaby beat the Joker Face?!). I watch in anticipation and I can FINALLY say that I'm proud of my little Crybaby as he beat Joker Face by 10 Push-up Jacks! It's about damn time! I raise my bottle for a brief drink of water to him and life continues. 

Last, but not least - the "Low plank obliques." "Are you ready for the last exercise?!" A few tears of joy (and some misery) stream down my face as I cry out "Yes! A thousand time yeeeessssss!" Shaun T demonstrates the move as "[his] form stays perfect" in his words (which it was) and it doesn't look impossible. By no means will I say that it's easy, as nothing has been up to this point, but certainly not impossible. I get myself some water and prepare myself mentally and physically for the last exercise. I get myself down to my cold, hardwood floor and get into position. I practice one on each side before - from a plank, pull each leg up individually toward the elbows from the sides. He pushes SOOOO MUCH during this last exercise and I manage to survive this one, just like all the others. At the end of this workout, Shaun T starts to make his way over to Chris but not before he points out "Chris is crying" (LOL, Crybaby. At least I just vomited). On a serious note, I'm definitely a fan of crying but I just don't think my body was physiologically capable of it at the end of this all. So blah blah blah, they've made progress, great for them. 

I'M DONE! OH MY STARS, IT'S OVER! Finally ... My body starts to wonder "Is it time for a victory vomit?" "NO!" I say, as I indulge in some water. We get into some of the cool-down stretching and it's rough to say the least. Again, another thing that I survive. Finally, we are done and my body is just - no. I just physically cannot ... anything. DVD continues to play and we get overwhelmed with advertisements for all of Shaun T's other programs (as well as a peak into his choreography life). 

Results
 
So my results were as follows: 
EXERCISE
TOTAL REPS
SUCCESSFUL VOMITS BY END OF EXERCISE
Switch Kicks
84
0
Power Jacks
38
0
Power Knees
43
1
Power Jump
20
0
Globe Jump
6
0
Suicide Jump
8
0
Push-up Jacks
15
1
Low Plank Oblique
25
0
 
 Conclusions

After some reflection on the overall course of this "Insanity" phenomenon, I have decided that for these first initial weeks, I will track my progress based on the number of times I vomit. By the second Fit Test, it is my intention to reduce my average number of vomits from 2 to 1. Normally I would err on the side of caution and say 1.5 vomits, but half vomits usually consist of dry heaving and I would rather just skip that step. Despite that my ass was thoroughly kicked and the fact that I found a new rival, I intend to continue into day 2 of Insanity tomorrow. Thus, I intend to continue to hate my life a little more by day's end tomorrow. Why am I doing this? :-\

Any questions or comments, let me know. 

 - Ty