INSANITY - DAY 3
So I guess I should make a quick update on Insanity day 3. Long and short of it - still a shit ton of squats and lunges and I may have pulled a muscle in my thigh. Not completely sure, but I decided to get some Icy-Hot just in case. Now I'm spending the rest of my night relaxing a bit, going through an assessment report and trying to distract myself from all the pain in my muscles.
As I'm typing this, it's showing up as some really weird formatting on this end - hope it doesn't post like this.
So it basically went like this today. I prepared mentally for the workout. Made sure NOT to peak ahead and de-motivate myself before getting started. I made room in the living room, got myself some water (soooooo much water today, btw), and got into the DVD. I began with some simple stretches before getting into it and then started up with some jogging and whatever else may have followed. It followed the same kind of format as the previous DVD - 3 rotations of several exercises which you're expected to increase in speed and power each time. I would say that I generally did "OK" at doing this. I also noticed this habit of taking a break whenever Shaun T reminded me "Take a break if you need it." Looking back, I probably didn't need as many breaks as I took. On the same note, I'm also sitting here applying icy-hot to my thigh, so maybe I didn't do as well with pacing it as I should have ...
Stretching leads into jogging leads into exercises leads into 30 second water breaks and more working out. I actually wore shorts today because I remembered that I had another pair which would be pretty suitable for exercising in. Trouble was, they had been in the dirty laundry for a while but I finally found them and was excited to see that they even matched my shoes! I also sent Jared a picture, but decided against it. Anyways, I'm working out and looking fabulous with my matching shoes and shorts and we get to some new exercises I've never seen. One of the cool things about the exercises is that there are some things that I'm a bit familiar with as there are basically some more intense and active yoga moves that he throws in. I'm also a fan of learning some new things and I actually found myself enjoying today's workout for the most part. Of course there were some hang ups, like when I found myself almost completely unwilling to do the moving push-ups. But Shaun T and I were able to work past that and continue the workout as suggested.
I was admittedly a bit upset after starting the DVD and looking through the crowd of people and noticing that Crybaby was nowhere to be found :-( . Then I started to have an existential moment where things started to get deep. What if I'M Chris Crybaby Cortez? What if that's what Shaun T and that damned Tanya were planning all along? Ahhhh snap ...
Continued the workout and finished it up pretty strong. I ended the day with no vomits and no nausea whatsoever! I did have to stop in the middle of it for a pee break, but I feel like that's progress since I upped my total water intake for the day. All in all, I'm sore as hell and nursing my wounds a bit, but I survived yet another day of Insanity. I look forward to whatever tomorrow has in store for me. Also, I'm just generally hoping that tomorrow is a quick day for me as I have some exciting plans for the weekend. I suppose that's all. I should get back to work on this assessment report and eventually get some sleep before work tomorrow. I'm loving my Thursday 10-7 schedule though - definitely more conducive to my wants/needs than my Monday 7:45-5 schedule was.
I find myself having less and less energy for intense posts as I continue the workout. However, I definitely made sure to look at some videos and pics of funny animals throughout the day so that was a plus. Self-care is essential ya know! Also, there was less fetal-positioned showering happening today too, so that's also a plus. Hoping we can continue that trend. Still reframing the sore muscles as progress. Also, amazed at how much my body can sweat! It's some intense shit really. The only time I can remember putting up this much of a sweat was waaayyyy back in the day, during the summers when I would play tennis for about 4-7 hours a day - those were definitely some good times. I miss tennis and would like to get back into it again at some point. I also miss junk food right now. One thing I've found that I don't miss though - soda. I've been soda free for a few months now (with an occasional soda as a mixer or at a restaurant once with Jared) and it's been a pretty simple transition. It doesn't always work when ordering food to be delivered though because apparently some places (Cousin Vinny's for instance) don't have non-soda options when you order. The closest they have is Sierra Mist, which isn't terrible, but I'd still rather not.
Ummmm... I guess that's it really. Not very exciting but that's my life some days. Looking forward to some more excitement this weekend in Columbus.
See ya later, bye!
No comments:
Post a Comment