INSANITY - DAY 2
Oh my shit - it hurts. It all just hurts. So much soreness. I'm reframing it as progress though. No pulled muscles or anything like that. So far I've survived. Mind you though, I didn't wake up this sore. Oh no, friends. This is the aftermath of Day 2 of Insanity.
Blah blah blah, woke up and went on with my day until time for the workout came. So I pop in the DVD and one thing I decided I would do was take a brief glimpse at what was in store for me. I start up the DVD and then it freezes on me! I'm borrowing my copy from a coworker so it was a short period of panic mode. "What if she thinks I broke it? What if she tries to make me pay for a new one!?" Then I laugh to myself - "LOL! There's no way I'll be paying $150 to replace this for her!" Brief panic comes and goes and I go to clean off the DVD. Clean it off and pop it back in and Voila! It begins working. So I go ahead and peak through a bit at what to expect. I ended up finding out that this was a HUGE MISTAKE! I can't think of any better way to have de-motivated me other than cutting off one of my limbs. I was just mentally not about this workout. But again, I'd made a dedication that I had to follow-through with and so I got to it. I got my cold bottle of water from the fridge and I also decided that I was gonna bring my fan downstairs too because I wasn't looking forward to being hot as balls like the last time I'd done this. I get myself prepared with my necessities and then I start to get myself a bit psyched up and mentally prepared for what I knew was ahead. Move the table out of the way, change into some shorts and push "Play" on the DVD.
Before we get too in depth about what's going on in the DVD, let's start with the name of the DVD. "Plyometric Cardio Circuit." Now I'm no scientist, but I start to use some of my deductive reasoning skills. Cardio = heart. Circuit = Mario Kart = this is gonna take some time. Plyometric ... hmmmmmmm. Metric --> Metric system ---> equals. Plyo must mean "Pain" - I'm going to hurt just as much as I did yesterday once I'm done with this workout (deductive reasoning folks!). *Sigh* ... Let's do it.
We dive right into some stretching. I take a look around the gym (as if I'm actually there) and there are at least 12 more people than last time! Screw this, I don't have time to start learning the names of 12 more people. Luckily we see the return of Crybaby Chris and - oh ... Joker Face is still here with her abs and making so much progress >:-| - good for her. We get to the workout. We stretch and stretch - "no big deal." - That's what I would say if I were a lot more fit and wasn't able to feel all the soreness in my muscles (especially my thighs) during the stretching. However, I could certainly feel the soreness in my muscles throughout the stretching though and damn were they feeling rough. But again, gotta do this and we just push on through the stretches.
Then we get into the actual exercises. We start to jog and jog some more - high knees - more running activities - some mummy kicks (which I like mostly because of the name) and lots and lots more things. Cool - I make it through one rotation of all of them. Well, halfway into the first set of mummy kicks, my shorts decide they want to start sliding off of me. To hell with it - I'm in my own house, so I just throw them off and away. The cat gives me a judgy look, so I glare back at him and get back into my mummy kicks. "30 second break - get some water" - absolutely will! Then we get back into the exercises - same rotation of exercises, but faster! Not that they went by quicker - I was just expected to go faster. So that's exactly what I (attempt to) do! We push through this rotation and get another "30 second break" - HA! No - we're gonna need more than that. I pause the DVD, get some water, keep moving around of course and check my heart rate. Turns out my heart rate is waaayyyyy up there by the end of it. I need to chill out just a bit before getting into it again, because, like they show in the beginning, my heart might seriously explode if I don't keep track of it - seriously. I decide not to take my chances. I keep moving, drinking some water and then find myself getting back into the workout at least mentally. My body is hating me, but again, "progress." Hit the "play" button again and continue where we left off. Turns out, we're doing ONE LAST rotation of these exercises and FASTER! Ugghhhh - we start into it and I find myself having to take it all more at my own pace (which they recommend anyway), so I do. Make it through MOST of the last rotation of things and then get a nice little break. Take my break and jump into the next rotation of exercise.
I'll be honest - I don't at all remember what the next rotation of exercises included. What I do remember is monitoring my heart rate, needing to slow it down a bit and having to stretch the next rotation longer than Shaun T originally intended. I somehow survive this next large rotation of exercises and transition into the final set of exercises. Again, I can't remember a damn thing that we actually did on the last rotations - my mind was more focused on just trying to accomplish a majority of the exercises with more than just 3 reps and I mostly did that. Finally, we come to the end of the workout where we're doing our stretches. My sweat drenched, half-naked, worn out ass is just standing in the middle of my living room sore as hell and stretching as best I can. I start to reflect on the workout a little bit and came to one conclusion - this dude makes me do waaaayyy too many squats and lunges. It literally kills me a little inside whenever I see that one of the workouts involves squats. I attempt to throw another reframe in there - "I'm gonna be soooo bootylicious when I'm done with these workouts."
I turn off TV and literally pull myself up the stairs by my railing - I'm convinced I wouldn't have made it upstairs if I didn't have the railing. I make it to the bathroom and jump in the shower. Now you know how able-bodied people typically stand in the shower and clean themselves off. Well, that was the idea I had in my mind, but all my body had left in it was to crawl into the tub, turn on some water and just lay there in the fetal position. After laying there for a bit, I realized I hadn't even put in the plug to fill the tub so I somehow pull myself up from the side-fetal position I'm in and try to do that. Then I think to myself about how pathetic I look at that moment - I basically look like I should be in one of those sad movies where I'm just laying there in the tub while the shower runs on me and crying about my lost boyfriend. I briefly think about what my boyfriend would do if he saw me like that and came to the conclusion that he would probably make fun of me. So I muster the energy to stand up and turn on the shower. I won't go into shower details because this isn't that kind of blog (yet ...), but it was painful and bending to clean all of my body was the worst. I once again reflect on the workout and ask myself - "was it a successful and good workout?"
If you read my last entry, you'll remember that I decided to track my progress based on the number of times I vomit during the exercises and LOW AND BEHOLD! - I didn't vomit this time! Didn't even have the urge to do so, as far as I can remember. SUCCESS! I look forward to tomorrow's "Cardio Power and Resistance" which I'll have to do earlier in the day to increase the amount of recovery time I have. Gotta make sure I can get to work on Thursday morning and then to Columbus later that night after my Thursday workout. It's gonna be a hell of a week, but we shall see how it goes.
Not the most exciting post, but that's just my life sometimes. OH! ALSO! I received some exciting news yesterday and I'm waiting to hear if the news becomes anymore exciting come Friday. Fingers are crossed! I also just realized that I forgot to put on deodorant after my shower so I should do that. I'm attempting to increase my overall water intake this month also. So far, I'm definitely doing better than in the past, but still have room for improvement. My forehead isn't covered in dry skin like it has been in the past so I'm hoping that continues. Also excited that my cat is actually using his water fountain thing that I bought him. It's the small things in life I guess. Can't wait for the weekend! I'm sure some of my clients will have some interesting things for me come Thursday though which should make the day go by quickly.
Peace out boy and girl scouts!
Peace out boy and girl scouts!
No comments:
Post a Comment