Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Insanity updates

So I haven't posted for a few days and thought I should first of all make people aware that I'm still alive (I'm certain you were concerned ... Right?) and, secondly, to update you on the status of my Insanity workout. 
So I ended up failing a bit this past weekend. I spent the weekend in Columbus with Jared and did a good job Thursday night before I left working out. I did a good job Friday afternoon while I was in Columbus. Then Saturday came along and fucked my shit up. I actually did NOT do my Saturday workout as scheduled :-( 
So what I decided to do instead was take the Saturday off and since Sunday was technically scheduled as an off day, I decided to do the Saturday workout Sunday night. I actually followed through with this plan and Sunday night after getting into town, I got to my workout. I was tired as all hell afterward and climbed into the shower. It was pretty late (around 1am) when all was said and done and I had to get to work early. The one thing that I had considered was that the workout won't help me get to sleep, but then again I never fall asleep by 2am anyway so I figured what the hell. Turns out I didn't get to sleep until around 3am which kinda sucked but oh well - I made it work. 
Monday morning rolls around and my left quadricep is being quite the pain throughout the day. It wasn't anything major and didn't spoil my day or anything but it was noticeable. So I make it through work and had a very important meeting afterward that was originally supposed to take half an hour. Turns out the meeting was stretched to 1.5 hours and by the end of it I was feeling exhausted. There's this one woman in the office that always gets on my case about my blood sugar levels. Whenever she sees me pass by, she calls me in the office to discuss my eating habits. What the shit is that all about?! I mean, I get that she's concerned I suppose and a mother figure but lady, don't try and pass off your bag of dry, crunchy ass pretzels on me! I don't even like crunchy pretzels! If you were gonna bake some nice warm pretzels then that's a different story, but that's not the case and STOP TELLING ME HOW TO LIVE MY LIFE! My own parents don't even do that! Granted, I think they kinda have up after a few years and eventually noticed that I mostly have my shit together anyways. But I digress. 
Monday night after the meeting I was exhausted. The roomie and I went to get some food and here's what happened there: I almost annihilated an entire large pizza! I am not even kidding at all - I'm pretty sure that long-term, this is not good for my overall workout and progress. What's more, after inhaling this pizza, I basically fell asleep. Soooo, I missed my Monday workout :-( 
It definitely sucked to miss the workout but I think I've made a compromise. I plan to continue to workout out through the weekend and substitute my Sunday for an active day to stay on schedule. 
Which means today I did cardio power and resistance. I blogged about it before but the one thing that I had forgotten the first time I'd blogged about it was this one lady, Adriana (spelling?). I'm not sure why I didn't blog about it the first time because it had such a profound effect on me even this time. It was beautiful though. So we're just into the workout and I think it was during some triceps dips. Shaun T is doing his thing (tangent about this later) and checking in with people about how they're doing. He comes to the lovely Adriana and asks her how she's feeling. Her response: "I feel like shit"  ... BAHAHAHAHAHA 
Just like I did the first time I heard this, I literally had to stop working out so I could laugh and breathe and laugh some more. And Shaun T kinda gives the camera a little smile and just goes with it and moves on. It was fantastic! This woman ... 
Which then brings me to my little tangent about Shaun T. So this dude is bad ass and all that jazz - creates this workout and several other series of workouts and then narrates, motivates, contemplates, generates (I dig the rhymes even though the last two don't fit) and all that's cool. THEN the dude starts the workouts and blah blah blah. One thing I've noticed is that his dude - this damn guy - only does like 70% of the workout!! The rest of his time is spent talking into the camera a bit and walking around checking in with the other people. Well dammit dude-guy, if you're gonna make the rest of us do the workout, you better damn well join in 100%. I sure didn't borrow these DVD's for free so I could have some built dictator (and potential member of a gay mafia is the new rumor I'm just now starting) tell me that I have to keep working my ass off when he's not even giving his all! But I sure did it anyway :-/ 
Two awesome things I've noticed as signs of progress: 
1. I can actually stand up in the shower after the workouts now. It's nice not suffering in the fetal position as the water beats down on me from high. 
2. I'm really starting to feel the soreness in my core which means I'm actually doing the heavy core workouts correctly! It's been a more recent improvement that I noticed this, but it's definitely reassuring that I seem to be on the right track. I there's one thing I learned from working with a physical therapist last year it's that one good way to monitor your progress with your core is through noticing your posture. As much as we like to think posture is some magical balancing act done with our backs, it's actually all from the core. So whenever you find yourself slouching, tighten up the core and use it like it was meant to be used. 

I think discovered recently that blogging just about insanity is a little boring at this point, mostly because I'm just going to be doing the same workouts for the new 3 weeks. So with that in mind, I'll try to mix things up a bit since it's my blog and I can do what I damn well please on these interwebs. I'm just now thinking though that hindsight, I probably should have taken measurements of my hips and stuff to help track progress ... Potentially add that to the "to-do" list when I wake up. Who knows when that will be though :-/ 
As Porky would say (with his little stutter of course), "That's all folks." 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment